Administrative Setup

Longleng Town was established in 1951 with Shri Ranjan, Assistant Political Officer as the first Administrator, and later on gained the status of full-fledged Revenue District on 24 January 2004 headed by the Deputy Commissioner.

The Administration headed by Deputy Commissioner is in charge of the District Administration, Law and Order, Protocol, Elections, Developmental activities and all extra charges from time to time. Deputy Commissioner (DC) is aided by sub-ordinate level Administrative Officers like Addl. Deputy Commissioner (ADC), Extra Assistant Commissioner (EAC), etc alongwith HODs (Head of Department) of various departments. The Administrative Units below the level of the district are based on the clusters of certain entities like circles, villages, households, etc.

A cluster of circles form a Sub-Division with Sub-Divisional Officer (SDO) as the Administrative Head. However, some of the sub-divisions which have been upgraded to the status of ADC Headquarter with some additional or independent financial and establishment related powers are headed by ADCs.

A sub-division is further divided in terms of cluster of villages which form a Circle – the lowest Administrative Unit with CO as the Administrative Head. Further, in order to better administer and implement the Rural Development (RD) schemes or programmes, the district is also divided into certain blocks called Community Development Blocks (CD-Blocks). These CD-Blocks are headed by Block Development Officers (BDOs).